A Stack of Information and Inspiration

20140324-122802.jpg

After finishing Vik Orenstein’s book, I needed to get some other tangible resources on hand. I get distracted easily, so I figured that I’d be more likely to continue my research if I had actual books staring at me in my face. Since Vik had such a nice collection of resources listed at the end of her book, I decided to select a handful of them to purchase –
 
The Big Picture: The Professional Photographer’s Guide to Rights, Rates & Negotiation by Lou Jacobs

Pricing Photography: The Complete Guide to Assignment & Stock Prices by Michal Heron and David MacTavish

Negotiating Stock Photo Prices by Jim Pickerell and Cheryl Pickerell Difrank

Instead of purchasing Vik’s recommended Children’s Writers & Illustrator’s Market, I chose the more specific 2013 Photographer’s Market by Mary Burzlaff Bostic

Since Vik mentioned the ASMP so much, I went to their website and saw their featured book to be The ASMP Guide to New Markets in Photography. So I got this one too.

To give myself a break from the business books, I turned to Courtney at Click It Up A Notch. She has a wonderful post entitled “5 Must-Read Photography Books” where she and her contributors each recommend a favorite photography book! Here’s what I got –

The Digital Photography Book by Scott Kelby

Learning to See Creatively by Bryan Peterson

The Photographer’s Eye by Michael Freeman

Humantity: A Celebration of Friendship, Family, Love & Laughter by Geoff Blackwell

When I saw Humanity, it reminded me of a book I saw when I was only 12 or 13 years old. I’d forgotten the name but never the images. As a girl, I remember being invited into the homes of families all over the world, through these photographs. I got to see what people of other cultures looked like, what the outside of their homes looked like, and all of their possessions. For someone who had spent her entire life in the Midwest, this book really left an impression on me. I was very excited to find it on Amazon!

Material World: A Global Family Portrait by Peter Menzel

I can’t remember how I discovered Chris Orwig’s People Pictures: 30 Exercises For Creating Authentic Photographs, but someone recommended it, so I bought that too!

Now, I feel like I have a whoooole bunch of tools right in front of me! Time to read!

One thought on “A Stack of Information and Inspiration

Want to leave me a comment?

